Google Tracking

Google Tracking Users By Location

Every step you take. Every move you make. Every step you take, every move you make, Google is watching you. Even when you turn off your location!

With Google’s Location History, user’s location is recorded over time on a geographic map to the very square foot by cell phone tower pings.  But even with Location History turned off, some Google apps will still store time-stamped location data without user’s permission.

It doesn’t discriminate between Androids or iPhones.  Google will continue to store user data, one way or another, if they use Google Maps or Google’s search engine.

“Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt-in, and users have the controls to edit, delete or turn it off at any time,” a Google spokesperson said. “As the story notes, we make sure Location History users know that when they disable the product, we continue to use location to improve the Google experience when they do things like perform a Google search or use Google for driving directions.”

But Why Does Google Want to Know Where I Am At All Times?

Google uses location data in order to “improve Google experience” such as navigation, business updates, and local weather forecasts.  But Google doesn’t just store your location data. No, no, no…

Google sells this stored data in an anonymized form to advertisers.  That’s right! When your phone starts to target you with information about your last Google search, it’s possible you are being carefully marketed to.

Advertisers use information provided by Google to steer customers based on where they are and what places they often go to.  Advertisers also measure the effectiveness of their campaigns based on the actions of users.

What Can You Do To Prevent Location Tracking By Google?

Turning off your Location History won’t prevent Google from tracking your movements. You can go into your Settings and turn off Web and App Activity as well as Location History to limit Google from watching your every step.

Although, according to Google’s Activity Control page, “Even when this setting is paused, Google may temporarily use information from recent searches in order to improve the quality of the active search session.”

Original Article Found on NDTV and AD Weekly.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •