wifi version cyber security training

WiFi Versions Are Made Simple With Specified Names

The latest version of Wifi is WiFi 802.11ac is now specified as WiFi 5. The WiFi Alliance just proclaimed that the next rendition of WiFi standard, considered 802.11ax, will be referred to as WiFi 6.

WiFi 6 will provide higher data rates, increased capacity, good performance (including stadiums and public venues), and improved power efficiency.

All previous WiFi standards are now referred to as:

  • 802.11b → Wi-Fi 1
  • 802.11a → Wi-Fi 2
  • 802.11g → Wi-Fi 3
  • 802.11n → Wi-Fi 4,
  • 802.11ac (current) → Wi-Fi 5

This straightforward approach will help users recognize which WiFi version will support and run with their devices, as well as keep devices up-to-date with the latest advanced WiFi capabilities.

“To help users identify devices that provide the latest Wi-Fi experience, Wi-Fi Alliance has introduced simplified generational names that may appear in device names and product descriptions,” the WiFi Alliance says. “Wi-Fi devices supporting the latest generation of connectivity are based on the 802.11ax standard and are known as Wi-Fi 6 devices.”

new generation of advanced wifi

Using these icons will help users to quickly find a network connection and make informed decisions about what version of WiFi network they want to connect to when using computers, tablets, smartphones, among other devices.

Original Article Found Here.