This Message Will Self-Destruct in 5, 4, 3….

A new method of sending out confidential information that self-destructs by a certain date?! Google made some new changes in their redesign of Gmail.

This Message Will Self-Destruct in 5, 4, 3…

Google has rolled out its ‘confidential mode’ for setting a self-destruct date on email to mobile devices.

This new Gmail feature allows users to select an expiration date for individual messages or revoke access to messages already sent.

Recipients are prevented from forwarding, copying, printing or downloading its content and allow users to require recipients to enter a one-time code sent via SMS to view the email.

To protect information in the event of the recipient’s email account being hijacked, an authentication feature is incorporated.

A Few Notes to Keep in Mind

While confidential mode could help prevent information leaks, Google notes a few cautions. It won’t, for instance, prevent recipients from taking screenshots or a picture of the message.

Additionally, confidentiality could be jeopardized if the recipient is using a malware-infected computer.

Not Technically Confidential

Google is treading more carefully with the rollout of confidential mode for its G Suite users, despite calling confidential mode an “information rights management” control.

Some people contest Google’s use of the word ‘confidential’, arguing it might mislead people into expecting true confidentiality when in fact it doesn’t.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation recently (EFF) accused Google of providing “misleading assurances of privacy and security” with the feature, which could steer users away from finding more secure ways to send private messages.

Additional Concerns

Its main criticism is that Gmail isn’t an end-to-end encrypted service, so Google could read your email.

In response to recent concerns about third-party developers having access to Gmail users’ content, Google stressed that no one at Google reads Gmail messages but noted that it can if it needs to, to investigate a bug or abuse.

EFF’s other criticism is that expiring emails are only partially erased since they remain in the sender’s sent folder after the expiry date and need to be manually deleted from that folder.

Original Article Found Here.

  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    1
    Share